Qualche cenno sull'argomento:
The University of Cagliari was founded under the reign of Philip IV, king of Spain, in 1626.
In 1764, under the reign of Charles Emmanuel III, king of Sardinia, the military engineer Saverio Belgrano di Famolasco drew up a plan to bring together the University main building, the Tridentine Seminary and the theatre, into a single complex. However, the last one was never realized. When the engineer Famolasco went back to Turin, the original project was unfortunately changed and differently realized, also in its stylistic aspects. This is one of the most important edifices built in Sardinia by the Savoy administration in the XVIII century. Furthermore, it is linked to the Enlightenment program of Charles Emmanuel III, which also involved the reform of Sardinian Universities as the most important centres of scientific and intellectual professionalism formation.
The façade is simple and linear; it entails three orders of windows: the first one is characterized by a jutting cornice, the second one has a curvilinear tympanum. The wide stone portal opens in the entrance hall heading to the central square-plan courtyard. A double symmetrical staircase leads to the bastion behind, while a simple lateral staircase takes to the higher floors, containing a lecture hall, covered with a coffered ceiling and fascinating paintings on the walls, and the rector’s halls.
The lecture hall has an XVIII-century bas-relief, which illustrates Charles Emmanuel III.
Furthermore, the official gonfalon of the University is shown with its emblem and two big paintings of Filippo Figari (the myth of Prometheus, Sardegna Industrie, 1925).