Church of St. Mary in Paradise

The church of St. Mary in Paradise was built beginning in 1590 on the site where it is traditionally believed that on March 13, 51 AD. St. Barnabas, an evangelist and follower of St. Paul, miraculously drove the base of the cross he was carrying into the stone. The stone, which is still visible today, would open to receive her, and, at the same time, demons would flee the city and the statues of pagan gods would fall to the ground smashing into a thousand pieces. Although it is more likely that the stone dates back to the Celtic period, even today the feast of “tredesin de mars” celebrates the event of Saint Barnabas’ arrival in Milan with heartfelt popular participation. Inside are frescoes and canvases, including the Adoration of the Shepherds by Camillo Procaccini.

Write a Review

Legenda Accessibilità

Accesibilità al Monumento
Accessibilità con accompagnatore
Disponibilità di parcheggio
Servizi igienici
Visita in Lingua italiana dei Segni ( LIS )

Legenda Accessibilità Mezzi

BUS CTM - Accompagnatore
La presenza dell'adesivo azzurro alla fermata significa che quella fermata è abilitata all'uso della pedana manuale per salita e discesa dal bus, solo con l'aiuto dell'accompagnatore.
Bus CTM - Senza Accompagnatore
La presenza dell’adesivo azzurro alla fermata significa che quella fermata è abilitata all’uso della pedana manuale per salita e discesa dal bus, anche senza accompagnatore.